Summary of the Proclamation Suspending Entry of Immigrants

The  Proclamation issued on April 22, 2020 and effective on April 23, 2020 at 11:59 PM  suspends entry into the U.S. of immigrants who:

  • Are outside the United States on the effective date of the proclamation;
  • Do not have a valid immigrant visa on the effective date; and
  • Do not have a valid official travel document (such as a transportation letter, boarding foil, or advance parole document).

The following categories are exempted from the proclamation:

  1. Lawful permanent residents (LPR)
  2. Individuals and their spouses or children seeking to enter the U.S. on an immigrant visa as a physician, nurse, or other healthcare professional to perform work essential to combating, recovering from, or otherwise alleviating the effects of the COVID-19 outbreak
  3. Individuals applying for a visa to enter the U.S. pursuant to the EB-5 immigrant investor visa program
  4. Spouses of U.S. citizens
  5. Children of U.S. citizens under the age of 21 and prospective adoptees seeking to enter on an IR-4 or IH-4 visa
  6. Individuals who would further important U.S. law enforcement objectives
  7. Members of the U.S. Armed Forces and their spouses and children
  8. Individuals and their spouses or children eligible for Special Immigrant Visas as an Afghan or Iraqi translator/interpreter or U.S. Government Employee (SI or SQ classification)
  9. Individuals whose entry would be in the national interest

Non-immigrants are not included in the proclamation.